Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Pediatrics


Anthony J. Mancini, MD, heads up the Division of Pediatric Dermatology, a position he assumed from Amy S. Paller, MD, in 2004.  Under his leadership, the division has continued to grow, and is now considered one of the largest, most diverse and best-recognized in the country and the world. The Division has a long history, dating back to early leadership under Nancy B. Esterly, MD, considered to be one of the foremost leaders and founders of the specialty.

Residents in the Division of Pediatric Dermatology at the Feinberg School of Medicine, through our partnership with Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago (Lurie Children's), have an opportunity care for children with a wide variety of skin conditions from the neonatal period through the age of 18.


The diverse interests and unique backgrounds of the Division’s seven faculty members offer medical students and residents a well-rounded education. The fellowship program, accredited by the American Board of Dermatology, accepts two applicants annually.


Clinical research includes our participation in clinical trials of newer medical treatments for atopic dermatitis, psoriasis, acne, hair loss disorders, and epidermolysis bullosa, as well as collaboration with other divisions in the medical center on a multitude of projects applicable to pediatric dermatologic practice. Recent research through the division explored the role of gangliosides in the function of skin cells and quality of life measurements for children with atopic dermatitis.

Patient Care

The Lurie Children’s division is the largest pediatric dermatology practice in the country and offers patients the latest in the diagnosis and therapy for all pediatric skin conditions.

Anthony Mancini, MD

Anthony J. Mancini, MD
Division Head,

Contact Us

For more information, contact the Department of Pediatrics Division of Dermatology.


Visit our fellowship page to learn more about advanced educational opportunities in the Division of Cardiology.